Queen’s Birthday list includes staff and graduates

RastonFour current members of Flinders University’s academic staff were among the recipients of Queen’s Birthday Honours announced yesterday, and awards also went to graduates and former staff members.

Public health researcher and advocate Professor Fran Baum and ground-breaking research scientist Professor Colin Raston (pictured) were made Officers in the General Division (AO), while optometry educator Dr Jason Booth and social policy expert Professor Adam Graycar became Members of the Order of Australia (AM). Further details are in the news blog story.

Two other AM recipients on the list have ties to Flinders: former staff member Dr Dean Beaumont, who was acknowledged for significant service to medicine, particularly in the field of otolaryngology and to medical research and education, and graduate Associate Professor Kaye Challinger  (MHlthServMgmt ’95, BAppSc(Ng) ’84), cited for significant service to medical administration, to the advancement of nurse education, and to quality health care delivery.

OAM (Medal of the Order of Australia) awards were also made to graduate and former staff member Dr David Brumley (MSc(PHC) ‘96), who was recognised for service to medicine as a general practitioner and to palliative care, while Dr David Wilkinson (BM, BS ’86) received his award for service to hyperbaric medicine.

Two Flinders graduates received the Public Service Medal: Mr Stuart Hocking (BEc ’85), for outstanding public service to economic, social and environmental policy reform in South Australia, and Mr Wayne See Kee (GCertPubSecMgmt ’03) for outstanding public service as Chief Executive Officer of the Torres Strait Regional Authority.

Posted in

Leave a Reply