Smashing the glass ceiling

The Advertiser ran a series of articles last week acknowledging 125 South Australian women who have achieved historic firsts – with the contributions of many influential Flinders staff and alumni noted.

The series was published in celebration of the 125th anniversary of the women’s suffrage movement in South Australia, marking the first time women were permitted to vote and stand for parliament.

Nominations are being sought from the public for additional South Australian women who have pioneered change or contributed significantly to the world, for inclusion in a community-selected top 125, to be published at a later date.

Members of the Flinders community noted in the five-part ‘Smasher’ List’:

Smasher list Name (qualification) Flinders link
Education, Science    & Medicine Emeritus Professor Denise Bradley AC (MSocAdmin ’87) Graduate
Education, Science    & Medicine Dr Susan Beal (DM ’98) Graduate
Education, Science    & Medicine Dr Maria Makrides (BNutDiet(GradEntry) ’91, PhD(Med) ’95) Graduate
Former staff member
Academic Status holder
Education, Science    & Medicine *Mrs Judith Roberts AO (DUniv ’08) Honorary Awardee
Former Pro Chancellor &
Deputy Chancellor
Education, Science    & Medicine Dr Leanna Read (PhD(Med) ’82) Graduate
Former staff member
Member, Flinders Science Industry Advisory Board
Arts & Justice Dr Robyn Archer AO (DUniv ’91) Honorary Awardee
Arts & Justice Professor Lowitja O’Donoghue CBE AM (DUniv ’94) Honorary Awardee
Arts & Justice The Honorable Catherine Branson AC QC (LLD ’12) Honorary Awardee
Arts & Justice *The Honourable Dame Roma Mitchell AC DBE QC (LLD ’93) Honorary Awardee
Arts & Justice *The Honourable Justice Kemeri Anne Murray AO (CUniv ’97, LLD ’07) Honorary Awardee
Former Council Member
Arts & Justice Ms Helen Oxenham Former student (Women’s Studies)
Politics The Hon Kate Ellis MP Former student (International Relations and Politics)
Sport Ms Marjorie Jackson-Nelson AC CVO MBE (DUniv ’18) Honorary Awardee
Sport *Ms Gillian Rolton AM (DipT ’79) Graduate
Sport Mrs Dianne Wallace-Ward (BEnvMgmt ’03) Graduate
Business &   Innovation Professor Karen Reynolds (GradCertTertEd ’98) Graduate
Current staff member
Business &   Innovation Ms Zannie Flanagan AM (BA ’94) Graduate

* denotes this person is now deceased

Posted in