Stars of STEMM shine in annual awards

Flinders University’s brightest STEMM stars have been recognised in this year’s SA Science Innovation and Excellence Awards – with six finalists nominated across four categories.

The annual awards recognise the inspiring and innovative work of leaders in Science, Technology, Engineering, Mathematics and Medicine (STEMM) working in research and education institutions, schools, industry and the community around South Australia.

Professor Corey Bradshaw is in the running for Scientist of the Year, for his work addressing the global biodiversity extinction crisis.

Two Flinders finalists have been announced for the Innovator of the Year Award – the Be Well Lab (featuring Dr Dan Fassnacht, Dr Kathina Ali, Dr Gareth Furber, Matthew Iasiello and Joep van Agteren) and 3RT (Professor David Lewis and Associate Professor Jonathan Campbell).

Dr James Dorey has been recognised for his PhD Research Excellence by addressing many knowledge gaps in our understanding of bee diversity.

Two innovative projects from Flinders University – Driving Australia’s Blue Bioeconomy, from the Centre for Marine Bioproducts Development, and the Shark Safe Consortium – are in the running for the Excellence in Science and Industry Collaboration award.

Overall winners in the awards, presented by the Department for Innovation and Skills annual, will be announced at an event on 25 November. To attend this event, you can register and purchase tickets online.

Posted in
College of Education Psychology and Social Work College of Science and Engineering Health Services