Flinders alumni selected for Australian of the Year Awards 2014

Very best wishes to Flinders alumni selected to represent South Australia in the Australian of the Year Awards 2014.


Dr Felicity-ann Lewis is the national finalist Australian of the Year.  Dr Lewis is a University staff member, Flinders graduate, longest-serving Mayor of Marion and national president of the Local Government Association.  She sits on many boards including the Migrant Resource Centre and the Aboriginal and Torres Strait Islander War Memorial Fundraising Committee.  Her efforts alone have garnered more than $100,000 towards Australia’s first memorial recognising the sacrifice of Indigenous people in war.


Dr Barbara Hardy AO is the national finalist Senior Australian of the Year.  Dr Hardy received an Honorary Doctorate from the University in 1993.  Her selection is wonderful recognition of significant contributions to science and the environment over many years.


Australian of the Year Award winners will be announced on Saturday 25 January at 6pm (AEDT).

Posted in
Alumni Profiles News Uncategorized

Leave a Reply