Innovator named among top SA women

Dr Amal Osman, from the College of Medicine and Public Health, was among inspiring South Australian women recognised in this month’s SkyCity, The Advertiser and Sunday Mail Woman of the Year Awards.

With six categories, the finalists ranged from medical pioneers to arts luminaries, teen music stars to whistleblowers and sports sensations.

Dr Amal Osman

Dr Osman was recognised for her novel research into developing the first “awake” sleep apnoea test to qualify breathing difficulties for sufferers worldwide, bringing personalised treatments for a very common disorder that impacts health, lifestyle and even relationships.

Flinders University alumna Anastasia Bougesis
(BHlthSc(Paramedic) ‘10, BNg(GradEntry) ’12) was a finalist in the Community Champion category for her role as chief development officer at Disaster Relief Australia, a charity that unites the skills and experiences of military veterans with first responders to rapidly deploy emergency response teams when disaster strikes. Now in the position as SA commander for the charity, she previously led relief operations overseas.

Other Flinders alumni and staff to feature among finalists in the Leader, Inspiration, Innovation, Rising Star, Community Champion and Hospitality Hero Awards were:

• Alumna Paige Greco OAM, who completed the Graduate Certificate in Disability Studies 2020 (GradCertDisSt ’20) and cricketer Tahlia McGrath, who has a Bachelor of Education (Middle and Secondary Schooling) and Bachelor of Health Sciences 2020 (BEd(MidSecSch),BHlthSc ’20) from Flinders University – who were both nominated for the Girl About Town Rising Star Award.

• Associate Professor Hannah Keage, a Flinders alumna with a Bachelor of Behavioural Science 2004 and Doctor of Philosophy 2008 (BBehavSc(Hons) ’04, PhD(Psyc) ’08).

• Former staff member Natasha Wanganeen, an award-winning South Australian Ngarrindjeri, Narungga, Kaurna and Noongar actor and producer.

This year’s overall winner is leading vaccine researcher Professor Helen Marshall.

Last year’s Woman of the Year Award went to Professor Nicola Spurrier, following the inaugural winner Julie-Ann Finney in 2020.

Posted in
Alumni College of Medicine and Public Health