Celebrating success

Eyes on the prize

Jacqui Warren (right) receives her award

Jacqui Warren, a senior lecturer and Placement Coordinator within the School of Optometry and Vision Science at Flinders University, has been awarded the OVSA Optometrist of the Year award for her work in establishing the Collaborative Eye Care Project for Ophthalmology at SALHN.

“A big thank you to OVSA for the acknowledgement of the work that went into this project and also thanks to the team at Flinders University for their continued support. I also wish to acknowledge my fellow finalists for the incredible work they are doing, you are all equally deserving of this award,” said Miss Warren.

International accolade for sleep expert

Professor Danny Eckert (right) receives his award

Professor Danny Eckert has been awarded the European Respiratory Society’s Mid-Career Gold Medal in Sleep Disordered Breathing. This organisation’s annual awards are presented to acknowledge scientific merit and engagement within the ERS by honouring exceptional members for their exemplary achievements and potential for further outstanding developments.

Helping shape STEM in Australia

Associate Professor Kalinda Griffiths

The Director of Poche SA+NT, Associate Professor Kalinda Griffiths, has been welcomed as a new member of Science & Technology Australia’s (STA) agenda-setting STEM Sector Policy Committee. The Policy Committee supports STA leadership to respond to policy issues and develop advocacy strategy for STEM advancement in Australia. You can read more about Associate Professor Griffiths’ appointment by clicking here.

Flinders medical grad wins Junior Doctor award

Flinders alumnus Dr Harry James Gaffney

Flinders MD alumnus Dr Harry James Gaffney was named the 2023 South Australian Junior Doctor of the Year by the Confederation of Postgraduate Medical Education Councils. Dr Gaffney’s state honour places him in contention with other state winners for the prestigious Australian/Trans-Tasman Junior Doctor of the Year title.


Posted in
Alumni College of Medicine and Public Health College of Nursing and Health Sciences Fearless Poche SA+NT