Hands up engineering wunderkinds and agrifood pioneers

Nominations are now open for two awards administered by the Australian Academy of Technology and Engineering (ATSE), one for engineering excellence and one for agrifood technology.

The Batterham Medal

The Batterham Medal recognises early-career engineers who have graduated from an Australian university and gone on to make a significant contribution to their engineering field.

It is open to nominations from within industry, research or academia.

With women continuing to represent only a small portion of Australia’s engineers, they are particularly encouraged to apply however the award is open to any gender.

The winner will receive $5,000 and will have demonstrated excellence, innovation and impact in a field of engineering, made a signature contribution to engineering in Australia within the last five years, and advanced the standing of the engineering profession.

The ICM Agrifood Awards

The ICM Agrifood Awards recognise early-career innovators who have made significant contributions to Australian food and agriculture.

Two winners, one female and one male, will each win $5,000.

Nominees may be from industry, research or academia and may even be an inventor with proven ideas.

Winners will have achieved substantial recognition for their work in a field critical to the continued improvement of the Australian agrifood sector within the past five years.

How to apply

Nominations for both awards close on 13 April 2018.

Winners will be announced alongside the prestigious Clunies Ross Awards at the ATSE Innovation Dinner in June 2018.

The ATSE website contains more information on both the the Batterham Medal and ICM Agrifood Awards.


Posted in

Leave a Reply