Celebrations at Ozwater awards

A Goyder Institute partnership involving Flinders University experts won the Australian Water Association (National) R&D Award for Research Excellence last week.

Sponsored by Water Research Australia, the 2015-20 ‘second term’ research program involved experts from the Department for Environment and Water, CSIRO, Flinders University, University of Adelaide and UniSA with supporting organisations ICE WaRM and the Goyder Institute.

Judges said the research program delivers economic outcomes through sustainable use of recycled water and the discovery of new outback water, supporting wellbeing of First Nations, increasing carbon sequestration, and improving the health of the River Murray.

“The Goyder Institute collaboration delivered high-quality, independent research to inform priority government policies,” the judges said.

Goyder Director Dr Kane Aldridge sent congratulations for the dedication and efforts of everyone involved in the long-running program.

“This award follows on from being the winner of the SA Branch AWA R&D Award last year,” he says.

“At the ceremony, I provided thanks to you all and dedicated the award to (UniSA) Professor Peter Teasdale, a (Goyder) Research Advisory Committee member who unfortunately passed away during our second term, and typified our core values in his genuine commitment to collaboration and training of our future water leaders.”

Flinders Professor Okke Batelaan, Strategic Professor Hydro(geo)logy and Chief Investigator at the National Centre for Groundwater Research and Training based at Flinders University, acknowledged a long list of current and former Flinders University researchers involved in the second term research of the Goyder Institute program, including Dr Eddie Banks, Dr Ryan Baring, Dr Kieren Beaumont, Associate Professor Erick Bestland, Michelle Clanahan, Professor Beverley Clarke, Professor Peter Cook, Professor Sabine Dittmann, Professor Howard Fallowfield, Associate Professor Huade Guan, Michael Hatch, Steve Hemming, Professor Charlie Huveneers, Associate Professor Andrew Love, Peter Reeve, Daryle Rigney, Professor Craig Simmons, Gabriel Shepherd, Professor James Stangoulis, Dr Ilka Wallis, Associate Professor Molly Whalen, Yueqing Xie and Zijuan Deng.

More than 4000 delegates attended the AWA Ozwater’22 conference in Brisbane, which included the annual national awards.


Posted in
College of Science and Engineering