Awards highlight HDR students that shine

The achievements of Flinders University’s brightest and most diligent Higher Degree by Research students were recognised last week in an awards ceremony to celebrate their remarkable impact on the University and society as a whole.

These awards celebrate the fearlessness and capability of early-career researchers who explore new ways of thinking that challenge conventional thinking to improve our world.

Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) Professor Robert Saint noted that projects undertaken by Flinders University’s early-career researchers cover a wide range of disciplines and specialties.

“Although you are in the earliest part of your research career, you are a core part of Flinders University’s research capabilities. I know you are at the outset of your career, but you are already making your contribution, through research, to the knowledge and understanding that will change lives for the better.”

Professor Colin Stirling, President and Vice-Chancellor, was in attendance, congratulating recipients on their awards.

Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Doctoral Thesis Excellence (L-R): Professor Diane Chamberlain (Interim Dean of Graduate Research), Professor Robert Saint (Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research), Temitope Olasunkanmi-Alimi (HASS), Sophie Rapagna (SE), Libby Hammond (EPSW), Michael de Ruyter (HASS), Sandra Mortimer (MPH), David Waterford (BGL), Ayub Qassim (MPH), Professor Colin Stirling (President and Vice-Chancellor).

Twelve emerging researchers had their early-career successes recognised with the Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Doctoral Thesis Excellence, awarded to individuals for the exceptionally high standard of their theses.

  • David Waterford (BGL)
  • Libby Hammond (EPSW)
  • Michael de Ruyter (HASS)
  • Temitope Olasunkanmi-Alimi (HASS)
  • Terefe Fuge (MPH)
  • Sandra Mortimer (MPH)
  • Ayub Qassim (MPH)
  • Julie Brose (NHS)
  • Tazarina Chowdhury (NHS)
  • Bonnie Derne (SE)
  • Diana Fusco (SE)
  • Sophie Rapagna (SE)
HDR Student Research Impact Prize (L-R): Professor Colin Stirling (President and Vice-Chancellor), Paul Heitmann (MPH), Professor Robert Saint (Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research)), Professor Diane Chamberlain (Interim Dean of Graduate Research).

The quality and impact of research undertaken by Paul Heitmann (MPH) and Piyamas Kanokwongnuwut (SE) was also recognised in the annual awards ceremony, with the pair receiving the HDR Student Research Impact Prize.

Best HDR Student Publication Awards (L-R): Professor Colin Stirling (President and Vice-Chancellor), James Dorey (SE), Raechel Damarell (NHS), Shannon Sandford (HASS), Madelaine de Valle (EPSW), Orlando Lam-Gordillo (SE), Professor Robert Saint (Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research), Professor Diane Chamberlain (Interim Dean of Graduate Research).

A further seven outstanding higher degree by research students were awarded the Best Higher Degree by Research Student Publication in recognition of their high quality research dissemination.

  • Reem Alothmany (BGL)
  • Madelaine de Valle (EPSW)
  • Shannon Sandford (HASS)
  • Nyoli Valentine (MPH)
  • Raechel Damarell (NHS)
  • James Dorey (SE)
  • Orlando Lam-Gordillo (SE)

On behalf of the Flinders University community, Professor Saint congratulated the winners on their achievements.

“These awards are recognition of your intense curiosity, your talent, persistence, academic excellence, your accomplishments and potential as future leaders and contributors to our society, whether that’s in research or any of the myriad of other careers open to you,” said Professor Saint. “The entire University community takes pride in your achievements.”

Posted in
College of Business Government and Law College of Education Psychology and Social Work College of Humanities Arts and Social Sciences College of Medicine and Public Health College of Nursing and Health Sciences College of Science and Engineering Research Development and Support