ACCN award renamed after Associate Professor Diane Chamberlain

Australian College of Critical Nurses has renamed an award after Flinders University staff member and graduate, Associate Professor Diane Chamberlain.

Flinders University’s College of Nursing and Health Sciences Associate Professor Diane Chamberlain (BNg(PostReg) ’95, PhD(OtherHlthSc) ’13) is an expert in critical care and epidemiology. She is the Topic Coordinator for the Acute Care Specialisation (Critical Care).

At this year’s Australian College of Critical Nurses (ACCN) AGM, the ACCN Research Seeding Grant Award was renamed the Diane Chamberlain Research Seeding Grant Award in recognition of her service and dedication towards the organisation.

Associate Professor Chamberlain recently completed a six-year term as president of the ACCN. Her long association with the organisation includes serving on the National Committee for about 20 years in various roles, such as National President, State President and State Representative.

Associate Professor Chamberlain is the ACCN’s longest serving president and has contributed significantly to reform and innovation. She took over the ACCN at a time when it was struggling, but she dedicated her time to not only fulfilling the president role, but also that of chief executive officer, transforming the college into a profitable organisation.

Highlights during her time include the development of a long-term strategic plan, position statements, workforce standards and constitutional reform.

Posted in

Leave a Reply