Flinders alumni scoop teaching awards

Twelve Flinders University Alumni took out awards at the annual Teachers Day Awards this year.

Nikki Asikas

Current Flinders student Nikki Asikas (BArtsSc ’19 and Master of Teaching student) won the Outstanding Graduate award, which she says came as a huge surprise.

“I had not actually realised the extent of the positive impact that I have made on my colleagues and students at both my placement schools over the last two years,” she says. “I was so honoured, and offer thanks to the many mentors who have been there for me, to shape me and help me grow in my practice.

“For me, the most rewarding part about teaching is the adrenaline that occurs when I see my students experience a light bulb moment. In that moment, I know that the tools I have been able to provide them with will help them shape their learning experience.

“I would love to continue this path of lifelong learning and be able to make learning experiences memorable for students in a secondary school. I want to know that I am creating a moment where students stop and think critically about the ever-changing world around them, and help them find their strengths to make an impact in society, as my family and mentors have done for me.”

In other key awards, the Minister’s Language Immersion Scholarship Award for Public Schools went to Zoe Cole, Burnside Primary School (BEd(JP/P)(GradEntry) ’06) and the Minister’s Arts Education Award for Non-Government Secondary Schools went to Anita Baltutis, Seymour College (GradCertTourism ’07).

Among the Educators SA State Awards, the World Education Forum Award was presented to Karen Inwood, Drama South Australia (BA ’86, DipEd ’88, MEd ’17).

Flinders Alumni recognised with Association Awards were:

Service to Wellbeing Leaders: Philip Bloffwitch, SA Wellbeing Leaders in Schools (BEd(UP/LS) ’01).

Exemplary Service Award: Alice Dunlop, Australian Council for Educational Leaders SA (BEd(JP/P),BSc ’09).

SA History Teacher of the Year: Paul Foley, History Teachers Association of SA (DipEd ’84).

Award for Excellence: Amy Geue, Australian Association for Teachers of the Deaf SA (GradCertEd (Spec Ed) ’07, MEd (SpecEd) ’09).

JLTASA Hiroshi Haga Teacher Recognition Award: Melissa Weinert, Japanese Language Teachers Association (GradCertEd(StAsia) ’05).

Outstanding Service to DSA:  Rebecca Wigg, Drama SA (BEd(Sec),BA ’09).

Early Career Languages Educator Award: Alison Zogopoulos, Modern Language Teachers’ Association SA (BPsychSc ’16, MTeach(Sec) ’18).

SASTA Honour Award: Dr Yvonne Zeegers, SA Science Teachers Association (BEd ’88).

Posted in