Exceptional staff at the heart of Flinders

Flinders staff who make an outstanding contribution to the University community have been recognised in the 2020 Staff Awards.

The Vice-Chancellor Professor Colin Stirling, Vice President Corporate Services Mark Gregory, Interim Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Students) Professor Deborah West and Deputy Vice-Chancellor (Research) Professor Robert Saint have put together a short video to congratulate the winners of the 2020 Awards.

The 2020 Staff Awards were postponed due to COVID-19. These annual awards honour staff who excel in their work performance, their support of students, and their commitment to the University.

Staff who have contributed 25 years of service to Flinders University have been recognised with a Staff Service Award. This includes:

  • Associate Professor Vivienne Brand
  • Ms Helen Hazelwood
  • Ms Angela Hogg
  • Mr Jason Lange
  • Ms Meredith Legg
  • Ms Michelle Nettleton
  • Dr Fred Pamula
  • Associate Professor Mike Perkins
  • Dr Sherry Randhawa
  • Mr David Ross
  • Professor Karl Sammut
  • Professor Robyn Young

Flinders University is respected as an excellent place to study and learn, and this is partly due to the unparalleled student experience that is a driving principle of the University. The following staff are providing world-class education, support and guidance to their students and have been recognised with the Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Innovation in Teaching and the Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching.

Vice Chancellor’s Award for Innovation in Teaching:

  • Dr Christine Barry and Lilian Fellner
  • Mr Joss Rankin
  • Dr Narelle Hunter and Dr Masha Smallhorn
  • Malpa Team: Dr Nina Sivertsen, Ms Nancy Bates, Miss Donna Fraser, Miss Larissa Taylor, Ms Raquel Austin-Abdullah and Mr David Copley
  • Dr Philip Palmer
  • Dr Sam Elliott
  • Dr Vipul Pare and Dr Rajesh Johnsam

Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in Teaching:

  • Dr Louisa Matwiejczyk, Dr Kacie Dickinson and Dr Kathryn Jackson
  • Dr Maria Giannacopoulos
  • Mrs Ying Yu, Mrs Leeanne Pront, Ms Angie Sterland and Dr Maurine Redden

The awards celebration also provides the Flinders community an opportunity to congratulate University staff who were recognised in the 2019 and 2020 Australian Award for University Teaching, acknowledging the impact they have had on the learning and teaching experiences and outcomes of their students.

2019 Australian Awards for University Teaching

  • Professor Kate Douglas

2020 Australian Awards for University Teaching

  • Dr Masha Smallhorn
  • Environmental Health Team: Associate Professor Kirstin Ross, Dr Harriet Whiley and Professor Howard Fallowfield
  • WIL in Sport Team: Dr Deb Agnew and Associate Professor Shane Pill

Our emerging researchers are also celebrated in the awards, with the 2020 Vice-Chancellor’s Early Career Research Awards for researchers who are changing the way we tackle important challenges facing our society.

  • Dr Claire Baldwin
  • Dr Hailay Gesesew
  • Dr Rachel Milte
  • Dr Emmanuelle Souzeau
  • Dr Jacqueline Stephens
  • Dr Alexandar Sweetman
  • Dr Emer Van Ryswyk
  • Dr Kasturi Vimalanathan
  • Dr Thomas Vincent
  • Dr Jennifer Young

We also recognise and thank Associate Professor Wendy van Duivenvoorde for the continuing support and guidance she provides to her students with the 2020 Vice-Chancellor’s Award for Excellence in HDR Supervision.

More information about the 2021 Staff Awards will be made available shortly.

Posted in
College of Business Government and Law College of Education Psychology and Social Work College of Humanities Arts and Social Sciences College of Medicine and Public Health College of Nursing and Health Sciences College of Science and Engineering Information and Digital Services