Flinders University Partners with Welcoming Universities for Student Fellowships

Flinders University enhances its commitment to diversity and inclusion by joining the Welcoming Universities Network, offering its students prestigious advisory committee fellowships.

Flinders University is a member of the Welcoming Universities Network.

It is part of Flinders’ commitment to embedding and advancing cultural diversity and inclusion practices across the entire institution and creating a sense of belonging for both staff and students.

With membership comes opportunity, and Welcoming Universities has launched launch its inaugural 2024 Student Advisory Committee Fellowships. The details have been reproduced here from the Welcoming Universities website. 


This program is a reciprocal approach to including and supporting the student voice in the Welcoming Universities initiative of Welcoming Australia and providing students with comprehensive recognition of their time and contribution.

The program is offered to 8-10 student participants each year, who have lived, living or relevant work and/or study experience in cultural diversity, migration, diversity, equity, and inclusion, to contribute to the Welcoming Universities Student Advisory Committee.


WU Student Advisory Committee fellows’ duties are to:

  • Meet four times per calendar year to discuss Welcoming Universities, and its direction and development (meetings are for 1 – 1.5 hours and will be planned in consultation with the committee at times suitable to the majority).
  • Provide an additional 5 hours per year of advice, insight, direction relating to questions/ideas posed about Welcoming Universities (via email, phone conversation, attending Welcoming Universities network meetings).
  • Read through and provide basic feedback on Welcoming Universities accreditation applications (no more than 5 per year, max 1.5 hour per application).

WU Student Advisory Committee fellows receive:

  • $500 stipend per year
  • 2 hours mentoring per year from either Welcoming Universities staff (Cate Gilpin or Aleem Ali), or Welcoming University Advisory Committee members, or a combination from these people (details of the Welcoming Universities Advisory Committee are on the Welcoming Australia website, and mentoring sessions will need to be planned in consultation)
  • Invitation to key Welcoming Universities and Welcoming Australia events and programs, including a free ticket to the Welcoming Australia symposium.
  • Connections, introductions, and opportunities provided through the Welcoming Australia and Welcoming Universities networks.


Fellowships are open to current students who are studying at Welcoming Universities member institutions:

  • Bond University 
  • Charles Darwin University 
  • Flinders University (that’s us!!🥳)
  • La Trobe University 
  • University of Melbourne 
  • University of New South Wales 
  • University of Wollongong  
  • UTS 
  • Victoria University  
  • Western Sydney University 


Applications close 15 July 2024Applications can be sent to Welcoming Universities Coordinator, Cate Gilpin, cate@welcoming.org.au

Application Form


Posted in
Associations and Organisations CALD Community Culture Disability News International Students News Our Partners Participate Positions Available Recommended Reading Social

Leave a Reply